Required Viewing

Hello dear readers.

Apart from Ray Harvey, the other great thinker who I quite admire these days is Christopher Monckton, 3rd Viscount Monckton of Brenchley.

I am inspired by this socratic dialogue that he has with a Greenpeace Member at the Copenhagen Climate Conference.

It is required viewing for anyone who thinks they know the “truth” about the climate change debate.

In this video he epitomizes Ray Harvey’s comments on Love

In the fullest sense, love, charity, caritas, delictio — whatever you wish to term it — is not just another passing emotion; it’s a way of life. It’s a state of mind. It’s the highest. It is moral perfection. It’s the way one should always strive to be — which is to say: happy, kind, patient, relaxed, honest, confident, neither arrogant, nor jealous, nor unjust, always slow to speak and always swift to hear.

Truly a state to aspire to.

If you would like to read some of the Lords thoughts on the subject of Global warming, please visit

http://scienceandpublicpolicy.org/monckton/

Below please find the dialogue.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Required Viewing

  1. DOC

    Very interesting and informative.

    On a less serious note, it could be a Monty Python skit!

    I do got to hand it to the Norwegian protester for this one:

    “The climate has been changing for 4 billion years, you know?”

    “I don’t know, I am only 30, you tell me!”

  2. Ray

    I saw that video a while back, and I thought it was hilarious. Christopher Monkton’s best quality, in my opinion, is how polished and articulate he is. He’s made some factual errors that have got him in a bit of trouble even with those who are on his side, but his confidence makes up for a lot.

  3. Speaking of Factual errors, Christopher Monckton, and myself. A little while back, he posted an apocryphal tale on the SPPI blog about Oliver North, Al Gore and Osama Bin laden.

    http://www.snopes.com/rumors/north.asp

    It had obviously been sent in by some right wing nut, and posted by the good Lord as gospel truth.

    I wrote in the following:

    Although I love what Monckton has to say about AGW and Gore, I was really annoyed by the most recent post publishing the obviously fake story about Ollie North and Gore and Clinton and Atta – Gore is bad enough without having to publish such tripe. I think it just reflects poorly on his credibility.

    It was my first foray into public commentary, and they immediately pulled down the post!

  4. Thanks for the comment DOC.

    I think that her reply speaks to her general attitude.

    “I don’t know, I am only 30, you tell me!”

    She loves the argument from authority. I have two children and a full time job, and I still find time to find these things out for myself…

    She should do a little research. Obviously she has some sort of deep seated desire to find fault with the world/humanity

    Maybe she is a recovering Catholic.

Leave a Reply

